Puneeth Rajkumar to be conferred Karnataka Ratna posthumously on Nov 1

2 days ago 8

Read Original Article At Source Website

Read Original Article At Source

For Quick Alerts

Subscribe Now  

For Quick Alerts


Oneindia App Download


| Published: Friday, August 5, 2022, 13:23 [IST]

Google Oneindia News

Bengaluru, Aug 05: Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai on Friday said that Kannada film star Puneeth Rajkumar, who died last year, will be conferred with the 'Karnataka Ratna' award posthumously, on November 1, which happens to be Kannada Rajyotsava, the state's formation day.

He will be the 10th recipient of the state's highest civilian honour.

Kannada film star Puneeth Rajkumar Kannada film star Puneeth Rajkumar

''We have decided to confer the Karnataka Ratna award to Puneeth Rajkumar on November 1, we will be forming a committee consisting of Rajkumar family members to prepare for it, it will be conferred with full honour,'' Bommai said.

He was speaking after inaugurating the annual Independence Day flower show at Lalbagh's glass house here.

 Karnataka CM Basavaraj BommaiBSY can never retire; will fight 2023 polls under his guidance: Karnataka CM Basavaraj Bommai

This year's flower show pays a special floral tribute to Kannada thespian Dr. Rajkumar and his son and actor Puneeth Rajkumar.

Considered the Kannada cinema's reigning star, Puneeth, the youngest of five children of Kannada matinee idol Dr Rajkumar, died of a cardiac arrest on October 29 at the age of 46.

The Chief Minister had made an announcement to confer the award on the late actor in November last year, at the ''Puneetha Namana,'' an event to pay homage to Puneeth Rajkumar, organized by the Karnataka Film Chamber of Commerce (KFCC), in association with Sandalwood film actors' and technicians' associations.

The Karnataka Ratna was last awarded to Dr Virendra Heggade for social service in 2009.

Interestingly, Puneeth's late father Rajkumar is among the first recipients of the Karnataka Ratna award in 1992, along with poet Kuvempu.

Other recipients of the award are S Nijalingappa (Politics), CNR Rao (Science), Dr. Devi Prasad Shetty (Medical), Bhimsen Joshi (Music), Shivakumara Swamiji (Social Service), and Dr J Javaregowda (Education & Literature).

 Bommai on Centre’s decision to increase age limit for Agnipath</a></strong><a href=" title="Shows sensitivity: Bommai on Centre’s decision to increase age limit for Agnipath" />Shows sensitivity: Bommai on Centre&rsqu...

Read Original Article At Source Website

Read Original Article At Source

*Note: Their will be lot of difference between article source and this article. We have changed the way of writing from original source website.