PM Modi holds NITI Aayog meet with states, KCR, Nitish Kumar absent

1 month ago 25

Read Original Article At Source Website

Read Original Article At Source

For Quick Alerts

Subscribe Now  

For Quick Alerts


Oneindia App Download


| Updated: Sunday, August 7, 2022, 13:41 [IST]

Google Oneindia News

New Delhi, Aug 03: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday chaired the seventh governing council meeting of the NITI Aayog. This is the first physical meeting of the council after July 2019 and its members include all the chief ministers.

Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar are two big leaders who are skipping the meeting.

PM Modi to chair NITI Aayog meet today; KCR to boycott Prime Minister Narendra Modi

NITI terms Telangana CM’s decision to boycott governing council meet unfortunateNITI terms Telangana CM’s decision to boycott governing council meet unfortunate

The agenda of the meeting, interalia, includes crop diversification and achieving self-sufficiency in oilseeds and pulses and agri-communities; implementation of the National Education Policy-school education; implementation of the National Education Policy-higher education; and urban governance.

The 7th Governing Council Meeting will endeavour to finalize a roadmap and outcome oriented action plan on each of the above themes.

This would be the first in-person meeting of the Governing Council since July 2019. It is particularly important as we enter Amrit Kaal against the backdrop of the Covid-19 pandemic and in light of India hosting the G20 Presidency and summit next year.

The meeting would also lay emphasis on the importance of the Presidency for India for the federal system and the role that states can play in highlighting their progress at the G-20 Platform.

NITI Aayog's Governing Council is the premier body tasked with evolving a shared vision of national priorities and strategies with the active involvement of States and Union Territories.

The Governing Council presents a platform to discuss inter-sectoral, inter-departmental and federal issues. It comprises the Prime Minister of India; Chief Ministers of all the states and union territories with legislature; Lt Governors of other UTs; Ex-Officio Members; Vice Chairman, NITI Aayog; Full-Time Members, NITI Aayog; and Union Ministers as Special Invitees.

Read Original Article At Source Website

Read Original Article At Source

*Note: Their will be lot of difference between article source and this article. We have changed the way of writing from original source website.